A T Level is split into three main sections:

  • technical qualification (TQ) is the main, classroom-based element. Students will learn about their chosen sectors through a curriculum designed by employers and developed by an awarding organisation (AO).
  • industry placement runs for a minimum of 315 hours (45 days) overall and will give students practical insights into their sector and an opportunity to embed the knowledge and skills learned in the classroom.
  • English, maths and digital provision are also built into the classroom-based element of the T Level, meaning students will be given a solid foundation of transferable skills.

Digital Support Services

Three students collaborate around a computer screen in an office, one of them is pointing at the screen

Learn the essentials of all digital roles by understanding data and digital systems, how software and business interact, security, testing, planning and legal issues.

TQ occupational specialisms and expected year of delivery

  • Digital infrastructure - 2021
  • Network cabling  -2021
  • Digital support  - 2021
  • Cyber security -2023


Date approved – 17 December 2020

Available from – September 2021

Awarding Organisation - NCFE

Outline Content -Digital Support Services

There are no mandatory additional requirements

The outline content is provided for reference only – please visit NCFE for the current TQ information

Find your nearest T Level provider

Provider information - NCFE provider information

Industry placements - Information for employers and How to get involved

Outline Content provider for reference only please visit NCFE for the current TQ information


The overall grade is subject to completion of all T Level requirements – not just the components of the technical qualification (TQ).

T Level grades are worked out from students’ grades for the technical qualification core and occupational specialisms. For example: to be awarded a Distinction*, you must achieve an A* in the core and a Distinction in the occupational specialism(s).

As well as passing the relevant technical qualification, the following elements are required to achieve an overall T Level grade:

  • industry placement: This will be arranged and verified by the provider offering the T Level. For more guidance on next steps for provider visit GOV.UK
  • students are required to work towards improving attainment in maths and English if they have not already achieved grade 4 at GCSE or equivalent. Where students have attained, or attain during the course of the T Level, maths and or English qualifications at level 2, this will be referenced on any T Level certificates and or statements of achievement

Students who do not pass all elements of their T Level will get a T Level statement of achievement which will show the elements they have completed.

TQ occupational specialisms with the relevant standards and occupations

Digital infrastructure

Network cabling

Digital support

Cyber Security