A T Level is split into three main sections:

  • technical qualification (TQ) is the main, classroom-based element. Students will learn about their chosen sectors through a curriculum designed by employers and developed by an awarding organisation (AO).
  • industry placement runs for a minimum of 315 hours (45 days) overall and will give students practical insights into their sector and an opportunity to embed the knowledge and skills learned in the classroom.
  • English, maths and digital provision are also built into the classroom-based element of the T Level, meaning students will be given a solid foundation of transferable skills.

Building Services Engineering for Construction

Apprentice using a thoedolite

Your course starts by helping you get to grips with core knowledge of how the construction industry works, the principles of design and the role of technology and sustainability. 

TQ occupational specialisms and expected year of delivery

You will have the choice to study one standalone occupational specialisms or a combination of specialisms as listed below:


  • Electrical and electronic equipment engineering - 2021
  • Electrotechnical engineering - 2021
  • Gas engineering - 2021
  • Protection systems engineering - 2021


  • Plumbing engineering and heating engineering - 2021
  • Heating engineering and ventilation - 2021-2024 starts only
  • Refrigeration engineering and air conditioning engineering - 2021


Date approved – 17 December 2020

Expected to be available from – September 2021

Awarding Organisation - City and Guilds

Outline Content - Building Services Engineering for Construction

There are no mandatory additional requirements

Find your nearest T Level provider

Provider information - City and Guilds provider information

Industry placements - Information for employers and how to get involved

Outline Content provider for reference only please visit City and Guilds for the current TQ information


The overall grade is subject to completion of all T Level requirements – not just the components of the technical qualification (TQ).

T Level grades are worked out from students’ grades for the technical qualification core and occupational specialisms. For example: to be awarded a Distinction*, you must achieve an A* in the core and a Distinction in the occupational specialism(s).

As well as passing the relevant technical qualification, the following elements are required to achieve an overall T Level grade:

  • industry placement: This will be arranged and verified by the provider offering the T Level. For more guidance on next steps for provider visit GOV.UK
  • students are required to work towards improving attainment in maths and English if they have not already achieved grade 4 at GCSE or equivalent. Where students have attained, or attain during the course of the T Level, maths and or English qualifications at level 2, this will be referenced on any T Level certificates and/or statements of achievement

Students who do not pass all elements of their T Level will get a T Level statement of achievement which will show the elements they have completed.

TQ occupational specialisms with the relevant standards and occupations

The following specialisms are paired: Plumbing and Heating, Refrigeration and air conditioning and Heating and Ventilation

Refrigeration engineering and air conditioning engineering

Electrical and electronic equipment engineering

Electrotechnical engineering

Gas engineering

Plumbing engineering and heating engineering

Protection systems engineering

Heating engineering and ventilation